NAIOP | Maryland Chapter

Committees // Legislative Committee

Legislative Committee

Taxes and fees, Smart Growth, Chesapeake Bay cleanup, climate change, energy price and supply and other legislative issues that affect NAIOP member companies are on the agendas of state and local governments every month. The NAIOP-MD Legislative Committee monitors state and local legislative activity, develops policy positions and serves as an advocate for the industry in the Maryland General Assembly and before county governments in Central Maryland. The NAIOP-MD Legislative Committee is comprised of asset and land development managers, land use and transactional attorneys, civil engineers and senior executives from NAIOP member companies. 

2016 NAIOP Legislative Committee

Chairman: Tom Pilon, St. John Properties

Arthur Adler, Caves Valley Partners
Scott Barhight, Whiteford, Taylor and Preston
Rob Bavar, Bavar Properties Group
Ken Bernstein, David S. Brown Enterprises
Michele Cohen, Miles & Stockbridge
Andrew Der, Whitman, Requardt & Assoc.
David DeVilliers, FRP Development Corporation
Bill Erskine, Miles & Stockbridge
Thomas Fahs, Corporate Office Properties Trust
Michael Gardiner, Gardiner Development
Peter Garver, Garver Development
Brendan Gill, MacKenzie Companies
Rob Hoffman, Venable LLC
Pat Hughes, Hughes Associates
James Knott, Knott Realty Group
Alex Kopicki, Solstice Partners
Jim Lighthizer, Chesapeake Real Estate Group
Wayne Lingafelter, Corporate Office Properties Trust
Robb Merritt, Merritt Properties
Sally Modjeska, NAIOP Maryland/DC
Bill Monk, Morris & Ritchie Assoc.
Carl Nelson, Corporate Office Properties Trust
Chris Nevin, BB&T
Dan Pallace, Merritt Properties
Howard Perlow, Residential Title
Vonda Peterson, Creative Access
Lee Sachs, David S. Brown
Ronald Schimel, Miles Stockbridge
Cole Schnorf, Manekin
Bob Schofield, Akridge
J.M. Shapiro, Continental Realty Corp.
Mark Thompson, Real InSITE
Marilee Tortorelli, Morris and Ritchie Assoc.
Cathy Ward, Corporate Office Properties Trust
Karen Watsic, St. John Properties
Dianna Wilhelm, Wilhelm Business Enterprises
Jerry Wit, Springhill Equities

NAIOP-MD Vice President for Policy & Government Relations: Tom Ballentine
Contract Lobbyist: Nick Manis, Manis, Canning